Visionary Woman Awards



Since 2003, the Visionary Woman Awards has recognized outstanding women leaders who have made a powerful impact on the worlds of art and design.  The first and only women’s visual arts college for undergraduates in the country, Moore College of Art & Design is honored to highlight the extraordinary achievements of women in the arts who provide powerful role models for our talented students.

The Awards engage students, faculty and the broader community in a one-day celebration at Moore:

The Elizabeth Greenfield Zeidman Lecture features the Visionary Woman Awards honorees in a moderated discussion followed by a question and answer session. The Zeidman Lecture is free, open to the public and held in the afternoon. The Zeidman Lecture is made possible by a generous endowment by the Albert M. Greenfield Foundation.

The Visionary Woman Awards Gala hosts over 300 guests to honor the Visionary Woman Awardees during an evening ceremony and gala dinner. The event is ticketed and generously supported through sponsorships by alumni, corporations and friends.

All proceeds from the Visionary Woman Awards event support scholarships for Moore’s undergraduate students in the Visionary Woman Honors Program

Visionary Woman Award Honorees

Andrea Baldeck, photographer
Ursula von Rydingsvard, sculptor


Dr. Mary Schmidt CampbellArt historian, advocate and President of Spelman College
Meg SaligmanMuralist and social practice artist


Alexa Hampton, interior designer
Pat Steir, painter and printmaker

Helen W. Drutt English, curatorial consultant & educator
Janet Fish, painter 
Nicole Miller, fashion designer
Kathy Butterly '86, ceramics 
Ann King Lagos, jewelry designer
Victoria Hagan, interior designer 
Ellen Lupton, graphic designer, writer, curator, critic
Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, painter, printmaker and activist 
Jane Walentas '66, artist and DUMBO community advocate
Signe Wilkinson, Pulitizer-Prize winning editorial cartoonist
Wendy Ewald, photographer and founder of Literacy Through Photography
Judith Leiber, handbag designer
Ann Temkin, art historian and first female chief curator of painting and sculpture at the Museum of Modern Art, New York

Nancy Kolb, former president and CEO of the Please Touch Museum
Billie Tsien, architect for the Barnes Foundation on the Parkway2008
Mary McFadden, fashion designer
Dr. Amalia Mesa-Bains, installation artist, arts activist and educator
Dr. Elizabeth A. Sackler, philanthropist, arts advocate and educator
Thora Jacobson, arts administrator and former executive director, Fleisher Art Memorial 
Mary Ellen Mark, photographer 
Linda Nochlin, feminist art historian
Faith Ringgold, educator, painter, quilt artist and author 
Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, founder, National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington DC
Judy Chicago, feminist artist
Dorrit Bern, entrepreneur and former CEO of Charming Shoppes, Inc.
Denise Scott Brown, architect 
Adrienne Vittadini ’66, fashion designer 
Jane Golden, founder of Philadelphia’s Mural Arts Program