Skip navigation

Moore's Visionary Woman Awards Raises $418,000 for Scholarship Program

Members of the Visionary Woman Honors Scholars Program
Philadelphia, PA – Over 250 people attended Moore College of Art & Design’s 15th annual Visionary Woman Awards Gala on Wednesday, October 11, at the College, located at 20th Street and The Parkway. The event raised a record $418,000 to support scholarships for Moore’s undergraduate students who are members of the Visionary Woman Honors Scholars program. This year’s honorees were photographer Andrea Baldeck and sculptor Ursula von Rydingsvard. The evening, which began with a cocktail reception in The Galleries at Moore, also included dinner, an awards ceremony, a film about the honorees and scholars, and a dessert reception. Moore is the first and only all-women’s visual arts college in the U.S. for undergraduates.

Peter Barbieri, curator of photography at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, introduced honoree Andrea Baldeck. Ursula von Rydingsvard was introduced by Susan Talbott, executive director of the Fabric Workshop and Museum.

The Visionary Woman Awards began in 2003 and has become a signature event at Moore each fall. The awards bring national attention to women artists and provide powerful role models for our talented students. The Visionary Woman Honors Program is designed for highly ambitious, reflective, independent-minded students who are interested in entrepreneurship, leadership and service while pursuing their creative discipline and academic achievements.

Past Visionary Woman Awards recipients include Philadelphia muralist and social practice artist Meg Saligman, Spelman College President Dr. Mary Schmidt Campbell, interior designer Alexa Hampton, jewelry designer Ann King Lagos, fashion designer Nicole Miller, handbag designer Judith Leiber,founder of the National Museum of Women in the Arts Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, and fashion designer and alumna Adrienne Vittadini ’66.

Click here to watch the 2017 Visionary Woman Awards video.

Published on October 12th, 2017