Skip navigation

Moore Celebrates the Distinguished Alumni Awards and Exhibition Reception

More than 100 alumni, friends and family members gathered at Moore on Friday, June 10, 2016 for the Distinguished Alumni Awards and the opening reception for the 2016 Juried Alumni Exhibition, featuring recent works by Moore alumni chosen by guest jurors Kelsey Halliday Johnson and Sylvie Patry.

Alumni Debi West ’92 and Janet Biggs ’81 received their Distinguished Alumni Awards in Fox Commons prior to the exhibition reception. West has given back to Moore in a significant way by establishing the Croy West Art Education Scholarship, in memory of her son who passed away in 2008. She is also a leader in the field of art education. Biggs is an accomplished multi-media artist who has traveled the world for her art. Both West and Biggs have works included as part of the award in the Alumni Exhibition, on view in the Galleries at Moore through August 13, 2016. Works of art are also for sale in the Art Shop.

Immediately following the Distinguished Alumni Awards, a reception was held to view the alumni works on display in the Goldie Paley Gallery. Works were chosen from hundreds of submissions by guest curators Kelsy Halliday Johnson and Sylvie Patry. Johnson is currently a member of Vox Populi and is the curatorial fellow in Photography and New Media at the Michener Art Museum in Doylestown, PA. Patry recently joined the Barnes Foundation as its new deputy director for collections and exhibitions and the Gund Family Chief Curator. Patry comes to the Barnes following 10 years at the Musee d’Orsay in Paris, France.

Artists Julie Miller ’68 and Carleen Zimbalatti ’78 won Best in Show awards for their work in the exhibition. Cheryl Zamulinsky ’07 won the Visual Arts Committee Honorary Mention award.

Works are on view from the following artists: Joan Becker '69, Emily Bicht '99, Marilyn Biles '57, Barbara Bjerring '91, Emily Brett Lukens '90, Lorraine Cahill '95, Diana Clauss '78, Rebecca Cohen '69, Linus Curci '14, Marie Elcin '00, Kass Freeman '66, Aimee Gilmore '13, Sandi-Jo Gordon '66, Kristina Ellura ’15, Barbara Groh-Wahlström '70, Elaine Harrison '64, Leah Koontz '14, Laury Mayer '91, Angela McGuffin '99, Julie Miller '68, Katherine Mueller '03, Kristin Myers '13, Carlee Myers '14, Donna Quinn '90, Mellisa Robbins '14, Dorothy Roschen '66, Lucy Russo '07, Michelle Sherman '15, Nina Silverman '92, Shelley Smatana '00, Susan Swinand '65, Marcia Taylor '70, Suzanne Woodall-Metas '87, Cheryl Zamulinsky '07 and Carleen Zimbalatti ’78

Published on June 16th, 2016