Visionary Woman Awards History


Visionary Woman Awards Launched in 2003, the Visionary Woman Awards recognize women whose lives and careers have made a significant impact on the worlds of art and design and are national leaders in their fields. The Visionary Woman Awards bring national attention to women artists, provide powerful role models for our talented students and raise scholarship funds for Moore undergraduates in the Visionary Woman Honors Program.

The Visionary Woman Honors Program is designed for highly ambitious, reflective, independent-minded students who are interested in entrepreneurship, leadership and service while pursuing their creative discipline and academic achievements. Students accepted into the program have a superior portfolio, exceptional academic history and evidence of future potential of leadership in the arts. Over their four-year education at Moore, each student will craft her own unique path as part of the program to engage in personal and professional development both inside and outside of the classroom.

The Elizabeth Greenfield Zeidman Lecture features the Visionary Woman Awards honorees in a panel discussion and town hall question and answer session. The Zeidman Lecture is free, open to the public and held on the afternoon of the gala. The Zeidman Lecture is made possible by a generous endowment by the Albert M. Greenfield Foundation.

The Visionary Woman Awards Gala hosts over 300 guests to honor the Visionary Woman Awardees during an evening ceremony and gala dinner. The event is ticketed and generously supported trough sponsorships by alumni, corporations and friends.


Dr. Mary Schmidt CampbellArt historian, advocate and President of Spelman College
Meg SaligmanMuralist and social practice artist


Alexa Hampton, interior designer

Pat Steir, painter and printmaker

2014Helen W. Drutt English, curatorial consultant & educator

Janet Fish, painter

Nicole Miller, fashion designer
201Kathy Butterly '86, ceramics

Ann King Lagos, jewelry designer
2012Victoria Hagan, interior designer 

Ellen Lupton, graphic designer, writer, curator, critic
2011Jaune Quick-to-See Smith,  painter, printmaker and activist

Jane Walentas '66, artist and DUMBO community advocate

Signe Wilkinson, Pulitizer-Prize winning editorial cartoonist
2010Wendy Ewald, photographer and founder of Literacy Through Photography

Judith Leiber, handbag designer

Ann Temkin, art historian and first female chief curator of painting and sculpture at the Museum of Modern Art, New York
2009Nancy Kolb, former president and CEO of the Please Touch Museum

Billie Tsien, architect for the Barnes Foundation on the Parkway
2008Mary McFadden, fashion designer
2007Dr. Amalia Mesa-Bains, installation artist, arts activist and educator

Dr. Elizabeth A. Sackler, philanthropist, arts advocate and educator
2006Thora Jacobson, arts administrator and former executive director, Fleisher Art Memorial

Mary Ellen Mark, photographer

Linda Nochlin, feminist art historian
2005Faith Ringgold, educator, painter, quilt artist and author

Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, founder, National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington DC
2004Judy Chicago, feminist artist

Dorrit Bern, entrepreneur and former CEO of Charming Shoppes, Inc.
2003Denise Scott Brown, architect

Adrienne Vittadini ’66, fashion designer

Jane Golden, founder of Philadelphia’s Mural Arts Program