Visionary Woman Awards

Visionary Woman Awards Gala

Moore College of Art & Design presented the Visionary Woman Award to Helen W. Drutt English, Janet Fish and Nicole Miller on September 23rd, 2014. The annual Visionary Woman Awards celebrate exceptional women who have made significant contributions to the arts and are national leaders in their fields.

Launched in 2003, the Visionary Woman Awards recognize women whose lives and careers have made a significant impact on the worlds of art and design. As the first and only women’s visual arts college in the country, Moore College of Art & Design is honored to highlight the extraordinary achievements of women in the arts and provide powerful role models for our talented students. The Visionary Woman Awards bring national attention to Moore and raise funds for Visionary Woman Honors Program for Moore undergraduates.

Each year, Moore hosts 300 guests that include sponsors as well as alumni, students, staff, faculty and friends to honor the Visionary Woman Awardees during an evening ceremony and gala dinner.

The Elizabeth Greenfield Zeidman Lecture
The Elizabeth Greenfield Zeidman Lecture, held at 2:00 pm on the afternoon of the gala, features the Visionary Woman Awards honorees in a panel discussion open to the Moore community and the public. An engaging question and answer session follows the lecture. The Zeidman Lecture is endowed by the Albert M. Greenfield Foundation.

2014Helen W. Drutt English, curatorial consultant & educator

Janet Fish, painter

Nicole Miller, fashion designer
201Kathy Butterly '86, ceramics

Ann King Lagos, jewelry designer
2012Victoria Hagan, interior designer 

Ellen Lupton, graphic designer, writer, curator, critic
2011Jaune Quick-to-See Smith,  painter, printmaker and activist

Jane Walentas '66, artist and DUMBO community advocate

Signe Wilkinson, Pulitizer-Prize winning editorial cartoonist
2010Wendy Ewald, photographer and founder of Literacy Through Photography

Judith Leiber, handbag designer

Ann Temkin, art historian and first female chief curator of painting and sculpture at the Museum of Modern Art, New York
2009Nancy Kolb, former president and CEO of the Please Touch Museum

Billie Tsien, architect for the Barnes Foundation on the Parkway
2008Mary McFadden, fashion designer
2007Dr. Amalia Mesa-Bains, installation artist, arts activist and educator

Dr. Elizabeth A. Sackler, philanthropist, arts advocate and educator
2006Thora Jacobson, arts administrator and former executive director, Fleisher Art Memorial

Mary Ellen Mark, photographer

Linda Nochlin, feminist art historian
2005Faith Ringgold, educator, painter, quilt artist and author

Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, founder, National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington DC
2004Judy Chicago, feminist artist

Dorrit Bern, entrepreneur and former CEO of Charming Shoppes, Inc.
2003Denise Scott Brown, architect

Adrienne Vittadini ’66, fashion designer

Jane Golden, founder of Philadelphia’s Mural Arts Program